Yet in the midst of this paradise

#BrainPhart
 
Pointing fingers, selective discrimination, random acts of racism, institutional
 
hate, blatant disregard for heritage,
 
If it’s one thing Ive learned in Charleston ..
 
Come Ya can’t tell Been Ya NOTHING … LOL
 
It takes about 50 years for a Come Ya to become a Been Ya …
 
If Im blessed to see my 100th birthday I would have made it.
 
Yet in the midst of this paradise,
 
as I peer at the outside world
 
(you dont just happen onto Charleston, you have to mean to come here)
 
the constant threat of life, destruction and mayhem
 
bloodshed and turmoil
 
Air Strikes and Bombings
 
I pray from Sun up to Sun down
 
Moon rising to that moment when Moon and Sun share the sky
 
World Peace & Healing
 
I wear white to soothe the pain
 
ease the mental strain
 
As animated as I can be
 
I am Pisces
 
I require time to re-assess and re-fuel
 
Mentally, Spiritually, Emotionally, Physically
 
I scream on the inside at the random shots of blood drained bodies
 
The blue/black of that which was red
 
Yet their insides have hit the air
 
Dismemberment and amputations
 
There has been no regard for our sensibilities
 
I dont watch broadcast television on purpose
 
No television here,
 
I may stream a show or two and join the human race
 
and as soon as 10:59 pm hits …
 
I click back to my commercial free world
 
To be this sensitive is a burden
 
To be this sensitive is a gift
 
It cannot be given away
 
It has to be nurtured
 
It is a skill to walk between rain drops
 
I simply can’t take the pain
 
To hear the barrage from CNN, FOX or what have you
 
The station breaks
 
Again ..
 
I would be screaming on the inside
 
To scream on the outside
 
they would come and lock me away
 
I feel cheated right now
 
I hear the sounds of the sirens, construction and traffic
 
I strain to hear the songs of the birds
 
I wish to feel the resonance of the bullfrog’s call
 
Elders tell a different version of today
 
Yet the details are somewhat identical
 
mass hysteria
 
distrust
 
discrimination
 
racism
 
sexism
 
When will be learn???
 
I am an immigrant’s child
 
To hear…
 
no they cant come
 
because of where they come from
 
because of who they come from
 
because of how they worship
 
because of what they look like
 
because of what they have been through
 
This is what happens when Heaven on Earth becomes Hell on Earth
 
no one wants to share
 
It’s hard to witness
 
This side of the human race
 
As I say
 
there but for the grace of …
 
I dont feel secure
 
Ive been where it all can get taken away
 
Again they ask
 
Why no decorations on the wall,
 
except for a calendar
 
Marking time
 
I did not come to stay
 
I will not get “comfortable”
 
circumstances brought me here
 
Yes Ive been that refugee
 
running from violence, mayhem
 
and bloodshed, confusion, abuse and oppression
 
I was tired, hungry and in need of shelter
 
I traveled days across state lines
 
To get back to a place that seemed nice
 
Yet I would land in a place I had never been
 
and the door would be open
 
Such fortune was not for those who would come a week later
 
How fortunate had I been?
 
To be able to get in
 
and begin again.
 
I pray for those in a state of flux
 
no matter where in the world you shall be
 
no one should have to stay a victim forever
 
Any assistance in the process from survival to living
 
should be granted with a whole heart
 
not with hate and fear
 
but Agape Love
 
Namaskar
Leave a Reply

