Community.

Adventures in Raising a Vagabond

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always been involved in community service. When I was growing up, my church would raise money for shelters and have food drives during the holidays for the less fortunate.

When I went to college, I joined Delta Sigma Theta, Sorority Incorporated because their values surrounding service and activism were in line with my own core values. Even while in graduate school, I volunteered in Peru for the summer teaching English and helping out at a local daycare.

Whenever I travel, I try to visit a shelter, an orphanage, or community center that focuses on helping the less fortunate, specifically children. Especially when I am with the boy, I want him to see that life around the world is not always as we live it.

11156248_10203976577434815_844232984162718144_n Our visit to Lubasi Home in Livingstone, Zambia

In Zambia, we visited an orphanage. The boy played soccer…

View original post 262 more words

Leave a Reply

