Speak the truth about the process.

“Recidivism” – I remember it from one of the first legal briefs I ever typed on my then brand new computer.

It’s a revolving door, in and out the criminal justice system.

The word has stuck with me over the years as I’ve listened to and witnessed the lives of many for whom the penal system is part of the family lineage.

For some, the shackles of cyclical incarceration of family, friends and associates never stops.

No matter how far away away you are.. the degrees of separation when the call rings out.. ain’t too far at all.

I ain’t gone lie.. my phone doesn’t accept collect calls for a reason, yet they find a way to hear my voice.

Even in the darkest hours of our lives, we have to know that there is light somewhere out there.

I’m not the most pleasant to call when you’re locked up. I don’t pull punches .. so it ain’t joy call.

There was one yesterday from a young man who I can only pray for. The chemical imbalance and mental health issues from birth have manifested in such a way that the penal system at times is home away from home. Smh

I remember one young man who went away at 17 came back to 34… oh the transition …

There are model programs everywhere but no standard process for those assimilating back into society.

Not every one has a family base to return to.. some I’m sure return to streets that look so strange they can only wonder, where did they then and how do they now… fit in.

#BanTheBOX

There are many who have gracefully reentered society and are contributing to ensure well being to the masses.

But the young ones caught in the “school to prison pipe line” have to be delivered a new life.

The streets have to spit lessons that are applicable to the real world..

Speak the truth about the process. Plant the seeds of self respect, love of self, creativity and entrepreneurship.

I’ll get back to this. . #BrainPhart

Leave a Reply

